The Michigan Reading Association is broken down into 10 regions across the state of Michigan, serviced by our 10 Region Representatives. MRA works with local councils in these regions to provide support and professional development to members in every part of the state. For information on a local council in your region, please see below or contact your local MRA representative.

Local Councils and Regions

Region 1

Region 2

  • Antrim, Benzie, Charlevoix, Emmet, Grand Traverse, Kalkaska, Lake, Leelenau, Mason, Manistee, Mecosta, Missaukee, Newaygo, Oceana, Osceola, and Wexford Counties
  • Northern Michigan Reading Council

Region 3

Region 4

  • Arenac, Bay, Genesee, Gratiot, Huron, Lapeer, Midland, Saginaw, Sanilac, Shiawassee, and Tuscola Counties
  • Flint Area Reading Council

Region 5

  • Allegan, Barry, Berrien, Branch, Calhoun, Cass, Hillsdale, Kalamazoo, St. Joseph, and Van Buren Counties
  • Tri-County Reading Council

Region 6

  • Clinton, Eaton, Ingham, Jackson, Livingston, and Washtenaw Counties
  • South Central Michigan Reading Council

Region 7

Region 8

Region 9

Region 10

  • Alcona, Alpena, Cheboygan, Clare, Crawford, Gladwin, Iosco, Isabella, Montmorency, Ogemaw, Oscoda, Otsego, Presque Isle, and Roscommon Counties
  • Clare-Gladwin County Reading Council

Additional Council Resources

  • Guidelines and By-Laws
  • Forms