The Michigan Reading Association each year at the annual conference recognizes meritorious literacy work by an individual, agency, or organization. Recipients must show expertise in one of the following areas:

  • Organizing literacy programs
  • Promoting support from the public relative to enhancing literacy
  • Producing teaching materials or special media for literacy programs
  • Carrying out research in fields related to literacy
  • Providing people the opportunity to help in literacy activities
  • Conducting special surveys of importance for literacy planning
  • Carrying out informal educational activities of a social, cultural, economic or political nature, in which literacy activities are included
  • Promoting legislation which supports literacy

Nominations are due in November of each year.

Literacy Award Nomination Form

View more information about each award and find out more about previous winners: