MRA Local Councils

The Michigan Reading Association is broken down into 10 regions across the state of Michigan, serviced by our 10 Region Representatives. MRA works with local councils in these regions to provide support and professional development to members in every part of the state. For information on a local council in your region, please see below or contact your local MRA representative.


local council map

Guidelines & Bylaws

Forms & Resources


REGION 1

Alger, Chippewa, Delta, Luce, Mackinac, Marquette, Menominee, and Schoolcraft Counties

MRA Region 1 Representative: Andrea Kleinpaste
Term: 2017-2020
kleinpa@nice.k12.mi.us

Local Councils in Region 1:

Marquette Alger Reading Council

President: Melanie Reaves
mreaves@nmu.edu
Membership: Lynette Suckow
lynette.suckow@gmail.com

REGION 2

Antrim, Benzie, Charlevoix, Emmet, Grand Traverse, Kalkaska, Lake, Leelenau, Mason, Manistee, Mecosta, Missaukee, Newaygo, Oceana, Osceola, and Wexford Counties

MRA Region 2 Representative: Barb Hammond
Term: 2015-2018
barbhammond69@gmail.com

Local Councils in Region 2:

Northern Michigan Reading Council

President: Natasha Bailey
nbailey@harborps.org


REGION 3

Ionia, Kent, Montcalm, Muskegon, and Ottawa Counties

MRA Region 3 Representative: Amelia Bean
Term: 2016-2019
abean@rockfordschools.org

Local Councils in Region 3:

Kent Reading Council

President: Andrea Severns
aseverns@egrps.org
Membership: Jane Mead
mjbmead@gmail.com

Western Dunes Reading Council

President/Treasurer: Marcia K. Klemp
marciaklemp47@gmail.com

REGION 4

Arenac, Bay, Genesee, Gratiot, Huron, Lapeer, Midland, Saginaw, Sanilac, Shiawassee, and Tuscola Counties

MRA Region 4 Representative: Cortney Brendel
Term: 2015-2018
cbrendel@lapeerschools.org


Local Councils in Region 4:

Flint Area Reading Council

President: Joanne LeBlanc
jleblanc@geneseeisd.org


REGION 5

Allegan, Barry, Berrien, Branch, Calhoun, Cass, Hillsdale, Kalamazoo,
St. Joseph, and Van Buren Counties

MRA Region 5 Representative: Mary Cooper
Term: 2015-2018
coopermary29@gmail.com

Local Councils in Region 5:

Tri-County Reading Council

President: Lacy Payne
lpayne@bridgmanschools.com
Treasurer: Mary Cooper
coopermary29@gmail.com

Southwest Michigan Reading Council

President: Gayle Green
greeng5@michigan.gov
Membership: Celeste Shelton-Harris
a.celesteshelton@gmail.com

REGION 6

Clinton, Eaton, Ingham, Jackson, Livingston, and Washtenaw Counties

MRA Region 6 Representative: Julie Adolphson
Term: 2016-2019
julie.adolphson@gmail.com

Local Councils in Region 6:

South Central Michigan Reading Council

President: Jenny Sanford jenny.sanford@springportschools.net
 Treasurer: Jessica Stoker jessica.stoker@springportschools.net


REGION 7

Macomb, Oakland, and St. Clair Counties

MRA Region 7 Representative: Jill Erfourth
Term: 2017-2020
jill.erfourth@uticak12.org

Local Councils in Region 7:

Oakland County Reading Council

President: Colleen Mestdagh
colleenmestdagh@gmail.com
Membership: Kia Zager
kiazager3@gmail.com

REGION 8

Lenawee, Monroe, and Wayne Counties

MRA Region 8 Representative: Milka Hoss
Term: 2017-2020
mhoss@summit-academy.com

Local Councils in Region 8:

Wayne County Reading Council

President: Milka Hoss
mhoss@summit-academy.com


REGION 9

Baraga, Dickinson, Gogebic, Houghton, Iron, Keweenaw, and Ontonagon Counties

MRA Region 9 Representative: Elizabeth Billie
Term: 2016-2019
billiee@wmschools.org

Local Councils in Region 9:

Copper Country Reading Council

President: Evelyn Johnson evjohnso@mtu.edu Membership: Eliza Fujita liz@mtu.edu

REGION 10

Alcona, Alpena, Cheboygan, Clare, Crawford, Gladwin, Iosco, Isabella, Montmorency, Ogemaw, Oscoda, Otsego, Presque Isle, and Roscommon Counties

MRA Region 10 Representative: Amy Romanowski
Term: 2016-2019
aromanowski@harrisonschools.com

Local Councils in Region 8:

Clare-Gladwin County Reading Council

President: Heather Jensen
hjensen@harrisonschools.com